Mid-Century Lamp – New Thrifting Find

There are a lot of things I really appreciate about my life.  The first one, and the one that makes the rest of my life possible, is my husband. I could write novels about what a great guy he is, but for today I will just limit it to this one thing:

He loves Mid-Century Modern.

Of course, we do disagree a little about exactly the type we are into. He loves the atomic age with the hard lines and angles.  I am more into the organic shapes and metallic colors, but we both appreciate each others’ tastes and styles.

So, when I saw this great desk lamp yesterday at my local ReStore, I thought he would think it was cool. Finally, a lamp we could both agree on.

MCM Desk Lamp

I love this lamp!  I immediately thought of insect antennae when I saw it. Both lamps move back and forth independently and the lamp heads themselves can move whichever way you want them to.

Lamp Head UpLamp head up!Lamp Head Down

Lamp head down!

They work great. One even has a really, really old lightbulb in it. The cashier at the ReStore was very excited about it, because honestly, it is a really cool lamp. 

But hubby wasn’t as excited as I thought he would be.  He looked at it skeptically, and then said, “Are you going to repaint it?”

Sigh. Ah well. It is kind of a putty tan color that really doesn’t go with our bright house, so I guess he is right.  What do you think, readers?  Should I paint this thrifted find, or just leave it?  It is scratched up, but I am also unwilling to mess up a vintage lamp, even if it only was $5.

*Update: This post was linked up to SongBirdTiff’s Good Stuff Thursdays post on her blog!

gst_badge

2 Comments

Filed under Renovation, thrifting

2 responses to “Mid-Century Lamp – New Thrifting Find

  1. Your husband sounds like he might be related to mine! I say paint it if you want to–it’s yours.

  2. Very cool lamp! Hubbies can be so unpredictable, huh? I think it would look cool painted in a color that coordinates with your home (assuming it’s not some priceless designer piece – I’m no good at that kind of i.d.). Do you need to make sure that the paint is heat-resistant? ‘Cause those old lamps can really give off some heat!

Leave a comment